Getting Thrifty.

So, incase you didn’t know I’m a student. Therefore, I’m living the broke life and don’t necessarily have the funds to go out and buy some new clothes to keep up with all the latest trends (even though I would like to). I’ve seen a lot of people talk about thrifting and how it’s a killer way to get some awesome clothes on a budget, I just never got around to actually doing it. This leads us to the other day, where my best friend Ash and I decided to give it a go. So, let me share some first time thrifting advice and of course what I managed to find!

Let’s start with some quick advice, shall we?

  1. Keep an open mind. Although I knew of some items I kinda wanted to shop for, I didn’t put a lot of pressure on myself to actually find them or hunt them down. I more focused on feeling inspired by what I found and how I could style it in my day to day wardrobe. HOWEVER, this leads to point two.
  2. Don’t buy random Sh!t. Go in knowing what you like and be realistic with the stuff you find. Those crazy red jeans may be super cool and fun, but are you actually going to wear them? I know you’re probably thinking “oh it’s only $10”, but ten bucks adds up pretty fast!! Think about what you can wear those red jeans with what you’ve got at home, and if they’ll make you feel confident!
  3. Have fun with the hunt! Keep in mind you may not find anything at all on your first thrifting shop. So visit a few places in one day, sift through everything, and be creative!! Think about how you can incorporate it in your wardrobe, that includes altering things! You’ve heard of DIY shorts and jeans, does that item need a bit of a chop to make it look banging? Can that print be super stylish with a plain pair of black pants? This is where you have to get creative, which in my opinion is the best part.
  4. Finally, wear something versatile and easy to style. When I go shopping I like to wear something that goes with pretty much anything, that way I can get an idea of if the item is going to fit in with my wardrobe. It also helps me figure out how to style it. During this trip I wore distressed boyfriend jeans, a casual tee and some high heeled black booties (because i’m short and think every outfit looks better with some height).

 

Before we get into the haul,  I’d like to say I wanted to buy stuff I could wear daily and that was super versatile. So, with that being said let’s jump into what I found!

First up we have this amazing cream stripe blouse. It’s got a satin finish and huge cuffs which is actually on trend right now. This was one of those finds where you can’t really believe your luck. I actually have Ash to thank for this top, because she found it and gave it to me (thanks Ash!!).

 

Second, we have this Khaki long sleeved ribbed top. I love the detailing on the sleeves, it has an almost ruffle effect. It actually had these big silver rings all around the neckline that were meant to be used to tie it up with some ribbon,  but I felt like it just didn’t look good, so I cut them off and left it open, it actually turned out good! Side note though, when I was trying it on I loosened the ribbon and moved around ( a lot) to make sure it wasn’t going to be a nip slip situation, so when DIYing make sure your view for the item is actually realistic and achievable.

 

Next, we have an item which I was a little hesitant about getting, due to advice #2. However, I wanted to be a little bold and try something new by challenging myself to style it. I got a cropped, short sleeve, black and white stripped denim jacket. I know, you’re asking yourself what I was thinking. To be honest, I thought it was kinda cool, and thought it was something I could see GiGi wearing, don’t know why but she just came to mind, so I had to get it!

 

Now moving onto accessories. Walking out of the change room of one store I went to, I spotted this little scarf attached to a bag. You can say it was love at first sight and I bought it immediately. Later in the day I found this little navy bag. Again, love at first sight and I had to have it, simple as that.

 

Finally, we are at the end! Thank you so much for checking out my mini haul and of course for reading. I hope you got a little inspired. Make sure to check out my Instagram for more pics of me styling these bad boys. Hope you have a wonderful day where ever you are!

– M x

Leave a Reply

